kode adsense disini
Hot Best Seller

Exposure

Availability: Ready to download

An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism. After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem tha An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism. After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem that still persists: the tendency for writing by women, whether fiction or personal testimony, to be invalidated on the grounds of sex. Drawing on Sudjic's experience of anxiety – as well as the work of Elena Ferrante, Maggie Nelson, Jenny Offill, Rachel Cusk and others – Exposure examines the damaging assumptions that attend female artists, indeed any woman who risks Exposure,, as well as the strategies by which one might escape them.


Compare
kode adsense disini

An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism. After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem tha An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism. After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem that still persists: the tendency for writing by women, whether fiction or personal testimony, to be invalidated on the grounds of sex. Drawing on Sudjic's experience of anxiety – as well as the work of Elena Ferrante, Maggie Nelson, Jenny Offill, Rachel Cusk and others – Exposure examines the damaging assumptions that attend female artists, indeed any woman who risks Exposure,, as well as the strategies by which one might escape them.

30 review for Exposure

  1. 4 out of 5

    Elizabeth

    A critical examination of anxiety, writing, what it means to construct a self online and how female subjectivity (in writing) is created, dismissed and grappled with, using a core of writers such as Elena Ferrante, Rachel Cusk and Chris Kraus. Fans of Maggie Nelson and Olivia Laing should apply. Intricately written with many insights and jumping off points for further thought.

  2. 4 out of 5

    Molly

    This book is excellent. Sudjic is able to describe in such underlinable skill, the plagues of anxiety and imposter syndrome while trying to write on a writing residency. She uses this as a starting point to explore the internet’s role in loneliness, authorship and female subjectivity as well as the auto fiction genre thoughtfully and articulately exposing the discrimination female writers face who borrow from their lived experience and use first person narrative in writing. Olivia you are one of This book is excellent. Sudjic is able to describe in such underlinable skill, the plagues of anxiety and imposter syndrome while trying to write on a writing residency. She uses this as a starting point to explore the internet’s role in loneliness, authorship and female subjectivity as well as the auto fiction genre thoughtfully and articulately exposing the discrimination female writers face who borrow from their lived experience and use first person narrative in writing. Olivia you are one of my talismans! This book spoke to me in so many ways.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Kirsten

    REally enjoyed this essay on anxiety and shame following the publication of the writer's first novel. Must go read the novel now.

  4. 4 out of 5

    Ian

    I’m with Sudjic on Austen, Roth - not so much. Knausgaard in 100 plus pages ( I’m alive to the irony )

  5. 5 out of 5

    Katie Lawson

  6. 5 out of 5

    Dafne Martino

  7. 4 out of 5

    Sophie Davidson

  8. 5 out of 5

    Lauren Highton

  9. 5 out of 5

    JG

  10. 4 out of 5

    Lizzy Stewart

  11. 4 out of 5

    Alex

  12. 4 out of 5

    Blair

  13. 5 out of 5

    Yasmin Bocarisa

  14. 5 out of 5

    Krysten Chambrot

  15. 4 out of 5

    Germinal

  16. 5 out of 5

    Tawseef Khan

  17. 5 out of 5

    Chris Haak

  18. 4 out of 5

    Sam Bourke

  19. 4 out of 5

    Danielle Walker

  20. 5 out of 5

    Ciara

  21. 5 out of 5

    Emily

  22. 4 out of 5

    Vanessa

  23. 4 out of 5

    Amy Page

  24. 5 out of 5

    Olivia

  25. 5 out of 5

    Marie

  26. 4 out of 5

    Maddie

  27. 5 out of 5

    Audrey

  28. 4 out of 5

    James

  29. 4 out of 5

    Benjamin Benton

  30. 4 out of 5

    Stevie

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.